Sorority Women Wearing Crowns – Miss USA and Miss America

Congratulations to Olivia Jordan, Miss Oklahoma USA, an Alpha Phi (Boston University), who was recently crowned Miss USA 2015!! She joins this group of sorority women who have worn the Miss USA crown:

Miss Universe, Miss USA 1956 – Carol Morris, Kappa Alpha Theta, Miss Iowa USA (second Miss USA to win Miss Universe)

Miss USA 1958 – Eurlyne Howell (later Arlene Howell), Zeta Tau Alpha, Miss Louisiana USA

Miss Universe, Miss USA 1967 – Sylvia Hitchcock, Chi Omega, Miss Alabama USA

Miss Universe, Miss USA 1980 – Shawn Weatherly, Delta Delta Delta, Miss South Carolina USA

Miss USA 1982 – Terri Utley [Amos-Britt], Alpha Sigma Tau, Miss Arkansas USA

Miss USA 1988 Courtney Gibbs, Pi Beta Phi, Miss Texas USA

Miss USA 1991 Kelli McCarty, Gamma Phi Beta, Miss Kansas USA

Miss USA 1994 – Frances Louise “Lu” Parker, Alpha Delta Pi, Miss South Carolina USA

Miss USA 1996 Ali Landry, Kappa Delta, Miss Louisiana USA

Miss USA 2003 – Susie Castillo, Kappa Delta, Miss Massachusetts USA

Miss USA 2008 – Crystle Stewart, Delta Sigma Theta, Miss Texas USA

Miss USA 2015 – Olivia Jordan, Alpha Phi, Miss Oklahoma USA

Miss USA 2016, Deshauna Barber, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., Miss District of Columbia


The sorority women who will compete for the Miss America 2016 title on September 13 are:

Miss Alabama, Meg McGuffin, Phi Mu, Auburn University

Miss Arkansas, Loren McDaniel, Kappa Delta, University of Arkansas

Miss California, Bree Morse, Delta Gamma, California State University – Long Beach

Miss Florida, Mary Katherine Fechtel, Kappa Delta, University of Florida

Miss Kansas, Hannah Wagner, Alpha Phi, Wichita State University

Miss Louisiana, April Nelson, Alpha Phi, Oklahoma City University

Miss Mississippi, Hannah Roberts, Kappa Delta, University of Southern Mississippi

Miss Nebraska, Alyssa Howell, Pi Beta Phi, Creighton University

Miss Nevada, Katherine Kelley, Alpha Chi Omega, University of Alabama

Miss New Mexico, Marissa Livingson, Pi Beta Phi, University of New Mexico

Miss New York, Jamie Lynn Macchia, Alpha Omicron Pi, Wagner College

Miss Ohio, Sarah Hider, Chi Omega, Ohio University

Miss Oklahoma, Georgia Frazier, Alpha Chi Omega, University of Oklahoma

Miss Rhode Island, Alexandra Curtis, Kappa Kappa Gamma, Syracuse University

Miss Tennessee, Hannah Robison, Alpha Omicron Pi, University of Tennessee at Martin

Miss Texas, Shannon Sanderford, Chi Omega, University of Oklahoma

Miss Wyoming, Mikaela Shaw, Chi Omega, University of Wyoming

Additionally, Chelsea Malone, Miss West Virginia, is a member of Alpha Phi Omega, a service fraternity.

Since 1921, when the Miss America pageant began, a number of sorority women have worn the Miss America crown. One even crowned a chapter sister as her successor. In 1960, outgoing Miss America Mary Ann Mobley crowned Lynda Lee Mead. Both were initiated into the Tau Chapter of Chi Omega at the University of Mississippi.

According to A History of Delta Gamma (7th edition), Miss America 1969 Judi Ford, “returned to school at the end of her reign to be pledged and initiated by the Iota chapter at the University of Illinois.”

Among the Miss Americas who belong to sororities/women’s fraternities are:

Miss America 1922 and 1923 (the only woman to serve twice), Mary Catherine Campbell (Townley), Pi Beta Phi (Ohio State University), Miss Ohio

Miss America 1943, Jean Bartel, Kappa Kappa Gamma (University California – Los Angeles), Miss California

Miss America 1947, Barbara Jo Walker (Hummel), Alpha Gamma Delta (Memphis State University), Miss Tennessee

Miss America 1953, Neva Jane Langley, Alpha Delta Pi (Florida Southern College), Miss Georgia

1954, Evelyn Ay, Delta Gamma (University of Pennsylvania), Miss Pennsylvania – This was the first Miss America competition to be televised.

Miss America 1958, Marilyn Van Derbur, Pi Beta Phi (University of Colorado), Miss Colorado

Miss America 1959, Mary Ann Mobley, Chi Omega (University of Mississippi), Miss Mississippi

Miss America 1960, Lynda Lee Mead, Chi Omega (University of Mississippi), Miss Mississippi

Miss America 1963, Jacquelyn Mayer, Pi Beta Phi (Northwestern University), Miss Ohio

Miss America 1964, Donna Axum, Delta Delta Delta (University of Arkansas), Miss Arkansas

Miss America 1967, Jane Anne Jayroe, Alpha Chi Omega (Oklahoma City University), Miss Oklahoma

Miss America 1969, Judith Anne Ford, Delta Gamma (University of Illinois), Miss Illinois

Miss America 1971, Phyllis Ann George, Zeta Tau Alpha (University of Texas), Miss Texas

Miss America 1972, Laurie Lea Schaefer, Alpha Xi Delta (Ohio University), Miss Ohio

Miss America 1983, Debra Maffett, Kappa Delta (Sam Houston State University), Miss California

Miss America 1984, Suzette Charles, Alpha Kappa Alpha (Honorary Member), Miss New Jersey

Miss America 1986, Susan Akin, Pi Beta Phi (University of Mississippi), Miss Mississippi

Miss America 1989, Gretchen Carlson, Kappa Kappa Gamma (Stanford University), Miss Minnesota

Miss America 1990, Debbye Turner, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Miss Missouri

Miss America 1991, Marjorie Judith Vincent, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Miss Illinois

Miss America 1993, Leanza Cornett, Delta Delta Delta (Jacksonville University), Miss Florida

Miss America 1994, Kimberly Clarice Aiken, Delta Sigma Theta (New York City-wide chapter), Miss South Carolina

Miss America 1995, Heather Whitestone, Alpha Omicron Pi pledge (Jacksonville State University), Miss Alabama (Her busy pageant schedule prevented her from having time to commit to the sorority.  She was not initiated.  She spoke at an Alpha Omicron Pi convention and said she enjoyed her short sorority experience.)

Miss America 2004, Ericka Dunlap, Delta Sigma Theta (University of Central Florida), Miss Florida

Miss America 2005, Deidre Downs, Alpha Chi Omega (University of Virginia), Miss Alabama

Miss America 2013, Mallory Hytes Hagan, Pi Beta Phi (Auburn University), Miss New York

Miss America 2014, Nina Davuluri, Sigma Kappa, (Michigan State University, affiliated at University of Michigan), Miss New York

At least two other Miss Americas were once member of NPC groups, but are no longer members in good standing. Another fun tidbit is that National Panhellenic Conference Chairman, Chi Omega Elizabeth Dyer, served as a Miss America judge in 1964.


© Fran Becque,, 2015. All rights reserved.  If  you enjoyed this post, please sign up for updates. Also follow me on twitter @GLOHistory and Pinterest


This entry was posted in Fran Favorite and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.