Alpha Sigma Tau and Delta Upsilon Celebrate Founders’ Day on the Same Day

On November 4, 1899, Alpha Sigma Tau was founded by eight young women, Mable Chase, Ruth Dutcher, May Gephart, Harriet Marx, Eva O’Keefe, Adriance Rice, Helene Rice, and Mayene Tracy. The event took place at the Michigan State Normal College (now Eastern Michigan University) in Ypsilanti, Michigan. The organization became a national one in October 1925.  In 1926, Alpha Sigma Tau joined the Association of Education Sororities (AES). Alpha Sigma Tau became a full member of the National Panhellenic Conference (NPC) when the merger of AES and NPC was formalized in 1951.

Since 1945, Alpha Sigma Tau members have helped support the Pine Mountain Settlement School in Harlan County, Kentucky.*  In 2004, Habitat for Humanity was adopted as a national service project. Each year Alpha Sigma Tau members volunteer with Habit for Humanity in their local communities. Members get involved in several ways. They can help with the actual building/renovation, provide meals, donate food and water, or help with Habitat’s fund-raising efforts. 

* To read more about the Pine Mountain Settlement School see

AST badge

Delta Upsilon

Delta Upsilon, was founded by thirty men on November 4, 1834 at Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts. It is the oldest non-secret fraternity.

Ten freshmen, ten sophomores and ten juniors met in the Freshman Recitation Room  of Old West College. They met in opposition of the activities of the two secret societies then at Williams. The name they chose was “Anti-Secret Confederation” (ACS).

Union College men established a chapter in 1838, followed by the Middlebury College group in 1845. In 1847, groups at Hamilton College and Amherst College were formed. The Convention of 1864, adopted the name “Delta Upsilon,” a name which several of the chapters had been using.

Among its distinguished members is football coach Lou Holtz, a member of the Kent State chapter. Hear Coach Holtz offer leadership advice to his Delta Upsilon brothers

DU (2)

© Fran Becque, 2013. All Rights Reserved.

This entry was posted in Alpha Sigma Tau, Delta Upsilon, Founders' Day, Fran Favorite, GLO, Greek-letter Organization, Greek-letter Organization History, Williams College and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.