Happy Birthday Tri Sigma and a Little Tidbit about Mabel Lee Walton

On April 20, 1898, at Virginia’s State Female Normal School in Farmville, eight women, Lucy Wright,  Margaret Batten, Elizabeth Watkins, Louise Davis, Martha Trent Featherston, Lelia Scott, Isabella Merrick, and Sallie Michie, announced the founding of Sigma Sigma Sigma. The founding home of the Farmville Four (Alpha Sigma Alpha, Zeta Tau Alpha, Kappa Delta and Sigma Sigma Sigma), the State Female Normal School is now known as Longwood University.


Mabel Lee Walton

Mabel Lee Walton, a charter member of the Gamma Chapter at Randolph-Macon Woman’s College, served as the sorority’s third National President from 1913-1947. She also served as the President of the Association of Education Sororities before Sigma Sigma Sigma became a member of the National Panhellenic Conference in 1947.

Her family’s home in Woodstock, Virginia was acquired by the sorority in 1963 and is known as the Mabel Lee Walton National Memorial Headquarters.

This entry was posted in Association of Education Sororities, Farmville Four, Fran Favorite, Longwood University, Mabel Lee Walton, National Panhellenic Conference, Sigma Sigma Sigma and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.